Home directories and shares in FreeNAS using CIFS

Status
Not open for further replies.

nordemoniac

Cadet
Hey guys!

I'm fairly new to FreeNAS, but I do have some experience on both Windows and Unix systems.

A couple of questions:

Is it only possible to set permissions on the volumes, and not the shares? I have now set access to root and wheel, and one user is now put in the wheel group. This user is going to administrate the content, adding new media etc. to the share.

How about the other users? Should they just be added without a group or in a random new group? I couldn't see any place to specify "only read" on a certain group, just "others". This is the settings on the volume itself.

For now I have created a group called "Users" which all the users with only read permissions is put in. That way this goes beneath "others" in group. I have disabled read on "others" when regarding single users, so that only the groups are allowed to read.

How about home directories using CIFS? How can I create these? All the users should have their own home directory, which should be private, and preferably invisible for other users. These directories will be used for backup etc.

I have a volume called "/mnt/Data", I would like a folder containing the home directories here. F.ex. "HOME" or "HOMEDIR". Does FreeNAS maybe create one of these itself?

Please help me set this up correctly.

headconnect

Explorer
Not dead, just 'good' questions :) I think there are a lot of threads going on right now concerning CIFS permissions and so forth - I'll be honest enough to say that for my purposes, even though I normally like to have some sort of authentication on my shares at home, I'm sticking with purely guest access to CIFS for the simple reason that I find the UI to finnicky to configure :)

The devs don't seem to focused on this type of issue at the moment (there are more pressing matters I believe) but they'll probably get to it once FreeNAS 8 reaches a higher level of maturity.