HDD & RAID questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr. S.

Cadet
I am brand new to NAS and I have been doing a lot of research into how to best setup my system.

I want to move all my data from my external drives and pc's over to the NAS and also keep a copy of all the data should I lose a drive.

I want to start small right now and be able to expand my drives in the future. For now I want to go with 2x 3TB WB Reds. The MB I plan on using will support up to 8 so I plan on adding up to 6 more in the future.

The first question is what type of RAID I should setup. Do I go with RAID1 or RAID10? Secondly, how do I go about adding additional HDDs to the NAS once it is up and running? I have been looking online for a tutorial on how to do this and I am coming up empty.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
I recommend to read Cyberjock's ZFS guide (link is in my signature) that should answer your questions ;)

Mr. S.

Cadet
Thank you for the info. It was helpful.

It looks like the safest option is RAIDZ2 since I could lose 2 drives and still have my data. I assume for that I need 3+2 HDDs. I assume that if I wanted to add more drives later on I would need to create a new volume and to be at the safest level, I would need to add an additional 3+2. This would allow me to lose 2 drives from Volume 1 and 2 from Volume 2 (4 total) and still have my data.

Is this correct?

Second question. What about just doing a RAID1 mirror with two drives and then building a second NAS also with two drives. Then having NAS1 backup to NAS2? Wouldn't this hypothetically give me 3 backup copies of my data?

sfcredfox

Patron
I would need to add an additional 3+2. This would allow me to lose 2 drives from Volume 1 and 2 from Volume 2 (4 total) and still have my data.
Is this correct?