BUILD Haswell build.

Status
Not open for further replies.

FREAKJAM

Dabbler
Hi,

For the last 6 weeks i'v been reading the internet after I decided that I want to renew my setup that I am currently using as my "NAS". Basically im running a HTPC, with XBMC on it and 2 harddrives, providing me with a total of 4TB of data. Im not running RAID or whatsoever. My current setup is like 3 years old and it actually works just fine, but as stated im running out of space.

I'm a system engineer and I work with Windows Servers and VMWare on a daily base. Combined with the "problem" as mentioned above I decided I want to build a new home server. I want to setup a ESXi server combined with FreeNAS running Plex Media Server and I want to use the home server to educate myself more and to play with VMWare. I'm aware of the fact that it's not adviced to run FreeNAS in a virtualized environment.

After 6 weeks of reading about ZFS (which is totally new to me), ESXi 5, FreeNAS, OpenMediaVault, ZFSGuru etc etc, I think it's time to make a choice, order my parts and setup my new server. Before ordering, I would like to post my current setup which I have in mind here, and ask u guys to critique my setup and maybe to give me some pointers. (Many people already assisted me on some dutch forums, but I also want you guys opinions). As stated, i'm totally new with ZFS & FreeNAS, so correct me when wrong if/when i'm making wrong statements.

CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1230V3
MOBO: Supermicro X10SL7-F
MEMORY: Kingston ValueRAM KVR16E11/8 (2x, thus providing me 16GB ECC unbuffered memory).
HDD: WD Red WD40EFRX, 4TB (3x)
SSD: Crucial 2.5" M500 120GB (2x, one as datastore for ESXi, the other for ZIL/L2ARC on the very same SSD).
PSU: Seasonic G-Serie 360watt
USB: Sandisk Extreme USB 3.0 Flash Drive

Setup explained:
CPU: cheapest Xeon CPU with hyperthreading. No GPU chipset included, but the SM board supports IPMI. Supports VT-d/VT-x and is based on the C222 chipset, so good to go for ESXi.