Hardware Recommendation - Low Power Rackmount Used

Status
Not open for further replies.

night_rider

Cadet
I've been testing FreeNAS on an old PC. I'd like to move to new hardware with some of the following qualities:

rackmount
hot swap drive bays
low power consumption
able to use commodity drives

I was thinking of buying an old Dell PowerEdge off eBay. They seem to be relatively cheap though the Xeon's don't fit the power profile I'd prefer. I have no experience building a rackmount but would certainly consider it if the case would not inflate my budget.

This mostly serves media and files at home. I'd appreciate any suggestions. I'm looking for nudges in the right direction.

Thanks.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Why don't you put together a configuration and we'll critique it? What you are asking for is like asking someone else to pick out a car you'll like. There's plenty of builds in the forum for you to look at for examples.

louisk

Patron
You should think about how many drives you're planning on using, and how you're going to hold those drives in a rackmount server.

Rackmount is probably the antithesis of low-power. Most rackmount gear has redundant power supplies.

You shouldn't have any issues with hot-swap or commodity drives, although you're likely to get longer lasting drives if you go with server class drives.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
For 99% of rackmountables, louisk is right. But, I have two of the 24 drive cases at 2 locations and they work very well. You get to choose the power supply(aka as much as you want to pay for efficiency) and they are NOT designed for redundant power supplies. They aren't the super high grade ultra durable, but they work great for home use or a small office environment.

http://www.newegg.com/Store/Brand.aspx?Brand=10473&Tpk=norco

jgreco

Resident Grinch