Hardware Compatibility

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS and would like all of you in this community help suggest me for following questions:
1. What is difference between hardware RAID-6 and software RAIDZ1 and RAIDZ2? What is the prefer or factor to evaluate the selection?
2. Below is the unverified hardware list on my new server, are there any incompatibility with FreeNAS 8.0.4?
2.1 LSI 2108 SAS 6 Gbps Controller, with RAID 0, 1, 5, 6, 10, 50, 60, 8-in
2.2 Intel ICH10R SATA 3.0Gbps Controller; RAID 0, 1, 5, 10

Feel free to suggest on links or something that I need to read. ^^

Cheers,
Pound

noplease

Cadet
Hi,

maybe you'll find a kind of 'first aid' here...:
http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Hardware_Requirements

Please let us know what kind of usage is intended in which environment. There is no single answer to all.
Are we talking about a NASbox for home/soho use or do you project system to serve and back up a regional medical center?
Is it more about millions of very small portions being written and read all day long or about some large files backing up five clients daily or weekly?
Tell us more please! ;)

If you really intend to use hardware RAID (or even RAID controllers with non-raided disks) you should carefully decide even which disks to use as reliability and integrity both do partly depend on the right choice. RAID controllers often are a bit picky with disk behaviour even when configured to JBOD.
You'll find some more info following the link above and when doing some search in the forum.

noplease

Thank you for your reply, noplease.

Actually, this storage will be used to keep video files for public video streaming. The server is Wowza running on Xserve, Mac OS X Server 10.6 and I plan to connect to server via NFS. Another task of this storage will be shared storage for vSphere 4.1 cloud which will be connected via iSCSI.