BUILD Hardware Compatibility Review

Status
Not open for further replies.

usp97

Dabbler
I am very new to DIY NAS, having just realized earlier this week that I could build one on my own. Originally, I had researched and found an off the shelf model that I liked, but didn't have the money. I've been watching ebay for the past year, but haven't come across any listings that fit into my budget. I am trying to put together one for home use, mainly laptop backups (currently 2 with more to add as my children grow) and streaming media. I was directed to various posts and stickies for general information. I have an idea of some components I would like to use, but I want to make sure they are compatible with each other and will work for what I intend to use the NAS for.

Case: Cooler Master Elite 120 Advanced - Mini-ITX
Power Supply: Corsair CX430
RAM: Corsair Vengeance
Motherboard: ASRock E35oM1
Processor: Intel Core i3-3220T

I am not nearly as good or knowledgeable about hardware as I am about software, so please tell me if I missed any components, if anything isn't compatible, if something I have listed is unnecessary, or if a component is not good to use.

Thank you very much for your help,
Matthew

survive

Behold the Wumpus
Hi usp97,

There's one glaring problem so far....the E350 board you selected is actually an all-in-one board that comes with a CPU.

If you would like, give us a budget number and we will be *happy* to put together some suggested parts list for you that should work great with FreeNAS.

-Will

Jan

Dabbler
I was looking at similar hardware but haven't decided to buy it yet. My budget is about 300-400 bucks without any disks.
I don't need to push max IOps through as I will use it mainly for FTP backups and local backups.

Any suggestions Will?

-Jan

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Jan,

Please don't hijack the thread. If you have questions please start your own thread.

Thanks,

-Cyberjock

usp97

Dabbler
Hi usp97,