Greetings...

Status
Not open for further replies.

rvassar

Guru
Just wrapping up my first FreeNAS build/deploy. Thought I'd introduce myself...

Geologist turned Software QA Engineer. 22 years in software, including Sun, Dell, HGST, and DXC. I'm basicly a Unix curmudgeon. I have a soft spot for the BSD's because of SunOS pre 5.x, but I'm quite at home with Linux & a variety of SVR4 derived commercial offerings. I have extensive knowledge of telco scale email systems, exposure to HA clusters, Enterprise storage appliances, and a smattering of Cloud Computing.

I've always kept a small *nix server at home. The last several years I've been running ESXi at home, and been pretty unhappy with storage riding on the hypervisor. I tried a small QNAP box, and made the mistake of choosing an ARM model on sale. I can tip it over pretty easily, and it needs to be rebooted every 2 weeks. So I tried FreeNAS on an old Dell SC1430, and it seemed intriguing, but far too loud for home office use. So I picked up an off-lease Optiplex 790 with an i3 proc, and have been working it into a pretty useful little FreeNAS box. It only has a 265 watt PSU, so I'm probably pushing it with 4 internal drives. I'm hoping to extend this with a eSATA enclosure of some sort in the near future.

So far I've preformed a disk replacement, with resilvering, a config backup, boot drive replacement, installed a mirrored boot pool, config restore, and moved some 2 Tb of data in. It's good to be on ZFS again!

Rob

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I'm hoping to extend this with a eSATA enclosure of some sort in the near future.
Don't do it. I have been down that road and it is better left untraveled.
The eSATA hardware is all very unreliable and drives will suddenly drop out for no discernable reason. The most reliable connection is a SAS HBA. I use SATA drives on mine and get fine performance.