Genuinely strange MacOS permissions issue: Folders with red minus signs

stiphout

Cadet
Hi all! I'm fairly new to TrueNAS, and NAS's in general. Fairly familiar with linux and macos, somewhat familiar with permissions, ACLs, etc.

BLUF: Mounting some SMB shares on MacOS work fine, but getting Finder "red circles with minus signs" when mounting some other shares:
redcirclefolder.png

I have a single pool, with multiple datasets. At some point, mounting newer datasets started messing with the mounting of older datasets. So I seem to have two "classes" of datasets, as far as this weird behavior is concerned. Call them Class-One and Class-Alpha. But I can't tell any difference between the datasets in these two classes, other than that I can figure out which class a dataset is in by mounting multiple datasets and seeing which ones are getting screwed up. The only pattern I can find is that I created all the Class-One datasets first, and I'm not able to create any more that end up being in this class.

Here's the crux of the weirdness: If I mount one or more datasets in Class-One, they all work fine. But as soon as I mount ANY dataset in Class-Alpha, ALL of the mounted Class-One datasets become ... "pseudo-read-only." And if I mount any more Class-One datasets, they will be pseudo-read-only. The only way to mount Class-One datasets again is to unmount EVERY SMB share on that server, and then mount ONLY Class-One shares again.

E.g., I can mount dataset ds1, and access the files there just fine. I can then mount ds2, and again, everything's hunky dory. But then if I mount dataset dsA, or dsB (you get the idea), both the ds1 and ds2 mounts become immediately pseudo-read-only. And if I mount ds3, it will be pseudo-read-only too. If I then unmount dsA, dsB, ds1, ds2, and ds3... and then remount ds1, ds2, and/or ds3, then they're fine again. Until I try to mount, say, dsA. See the pattern?