Freenas shows 4GB RAM , NAS4Free shows 8GB of ram ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

orconomix

Cadet
Hello.

I am new to Freenas and just experimenting with it .

I am using this version : http://download.freenas.org/9.3/STABLE/201506042008/x64/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201506042008.iso

which i assume is a 64Bit version.

My computer is

- C-50 AMD cpu
- 2x 4GB RAM
- 8GB flash drive
- 250GB HDD.

I upgraded the ram from 4GB to 8GB and freenas only sees 4GB of the 8GB RAM , even after a fresh reinstall .

When i run NAS4Free on the same computer , it shows all the 8 GB of RAM available.

Is there a way to fix that ?

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
Is there a way to fix that ?
Probably not on that hardware.

If you're just experimenting to familiarize yourself with FreeNAS, go ahead and run it with 4GB and see what happens, but don't put anything important on it and don't be surprised if it's unstable

Your hardware isn't suitable for running FreeNAS in production. You'd probably be better of with something Linux-based if you plan to use that hardware.

depasseg

FreeNAS Replicant
I think his problem is that he has 8GB installed, but FreeNAS is only seeing 4G. I've seen one other post that was similar to this. I don't know what the resolution, if any, was. What happens when you run Memtest? Googling shows similar issues where the computer will only see half the RAM.

orconomix

Cadet
Well , i went to FreeNAS-9.2.1.9-RELEASE-x64 (2bbba09) and i can see 8 GB of RAM.

Gotta see if that is a fluke and if it will also work on V9.3.x or not.
Maybe something went wrong during the installation of 9.3.x .

orconomix

Cadet
It seems like something must have gone wrong during the installation.
I downloaded FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201506162331 and did these steps...

1 . i wiped the installation USB flash drive with easus partition master
2 . i wiped the USB flash drive where freenas was supposed to be installed on with easus partition master.