FreeNAS on ESXi, Supermicro X11SDV (?)

KMaes

Cadet
Hello,

After 8 years, it is time to do a technology refresh in our home. In order to conserve energy, we would like to consolidate several hardware machines in one platform, running ESXi.

1.FreeNAS : 6TB usable should be enough for the next 3 years. The FreeNAS will replace an obsolete QNAP
2. Firewall : pfSense
3. Smarthome server: OpenHAB. This one is 'home critical'. Basic functions like lighting, heating, blinds can be controlled without the server running but there is no TV or music without OpenHAB.
4. Linux homeserver with some goodies like Indexing server etc. Might install Plex on this server or on FreeNAS.
5. Windows 2016 server. Because I can and I'm still a system engineer at heart. :)
6. Linux server for each child, so they can start tinkering without impacting the grown ups.

We use max. three simultaneous Plex streams, one in 4K.

After some shopping, I came up with the following setup:

Motherboard and CPU : https://www.supermicro.com/products/motherboard/Xeon/D/X11SDV-8C-TP8F.cfm
FreeNAS Storage : three 6 GB Western Digital RED
VMWare boot from USB, 2 x M.2 SSD 512 GB
Memory : 64 GB ECC RAM. No idea what brand/model I should take.
Powersupply : Seasonic or Supermicro 300W. Not decided yet.
HBA : all tips are very welcome

Thanks for all the help!

Inxsible

Guru
DDR4 is at an all time high. Go with a X9 or some of the X10(that support DDR3) series boards. You will save a lot of money in terms of the board as well as the memory and maybe even in CPU.

1. Have you decided on the case?
  2. Have you decided the configuration of the drives? If you are using 3x6TB drives -- how many are for FreeNAS. How many in total? See question 1
  3. Your PSU seems woefully inadequate. Depending on your answer for 1 & 2, you will need to upgrade also taking into account how many VMs you have and a whole host of things that we can get into later.