FreeNAS does not show any of my drives.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Poppa

Explorer
Hello, I am new to FreeNAS and just installed it last night. I was able to install version 9.10 just fine and then updated it to v9.10.2-U4. The only problems I am having are that S.M.A.R.T. will not run and FreeNAS doesn't see any of my 36 drives. I previously used OMV on this system and it was able to detect all my drives.

My System

Supermicro CSE-847A-R1400-LPB.
Supermicro X8DTE motherboard.
Intel Xeon 5650 2,67Ghz Hex-core processor.
24GB Samsung M393B5170EH1-CH9 PC3-10600R RAM.
5 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8 HBA's connecting all 36 drives.
36 Toshiba HDWE160 6TB drives.

Last edited:

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

Poppa

Explorer
That is really not very helpful or appreciated in any way.

That is what I have and I am not going to buy new hardware just so I can use a piece of free software. As I said above, OpenMediaVault was able to recognize my drives so the problem is obviously with FreeNAS.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
It's the truth.

As I said above, OpenMediaVault was able to recognize my drives so the problem is obviously with FreeNAS.
In a way. The existence of a vaguely usable Linux driver doesn't mean there's a usable FreeBSD driver and that's not going to change unless Marvell changes that. Even then, they're still second-tier hardware.

danb35

Hall of Famer
There's a bit of irony in a person with a username of "PopAStiffy" whose location is listed as "Your Moms Funhole" lecturing about what's helpful.

Poppa

Explorer
There's a bit of irony in a person with a username of "PopAStiffy" whose location is listed as "Your Moms Funhole" lecturing about what's helpful.

:D

How is my location or username relevant?

danb35

Hall of Famer
If you have to ask the question, you wouldn't understand the answer.