SOLVED FreeNAS box on the way, how shall I set it up?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tumblingthrough

Dabbler
Hi

I'm just looking for some suggestions as to how to set up my new FreeNAS device once it arrives. I have a self-built 3 Disk RAID 5 server running at the moment which the new 4 x 3TB FreeNAS will replace (I think I'll set it up as RAID-Z2). I've got three kids under 7, so there was no way I was going to have the time to build it myself.

I've been using Linux non-professionally for more that ten years, but have no experience with how FreeNAS works. Essentially, I was wondering what the opinions were about how to organise the files on the server, according to the following needs:

BACK UP: At the moment all the house machines auto-backup to CrashPlan, but their pricing policy has changed since we bought a long term subscription, so I'd like back up all the house machines to the FreeNAS server which itself would then back up to CrashPlan. I've heard about 'jails' etc. though I don't understand the concept as yet. It would be good to 'box in' each of the backed up machines (including my work laptop) separately on the FreeNAS server.

TV / MOVIES: I use PLEX and would like to continue to do so. There is about 750GB of TV Shows and Movies on the present server, where's the best place to put them, would you say? We have an Amazon Fire Stick, if that is of any relevance.

PHOTOS: At the moment we've got thousands of photos on different laptops. My gf is not good with anything that has buttons, so I need a VERY easy way for her to upload her pictures to a shared place on the FreeNAS server, so we no longer have to ask each other or copies of pictures of the kids etc.. Photos of course coming from smartphones as well as laptops, DSLRs etc. We can view photos on the TV through PLEX, it's clunky. Are there other options?

Anything else I've missed?

Many thanks.

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Sure FreeNAS can handle all of that.