FreeNAS and pfSense compatibility issue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tigs

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS. I wanted to give it a try, and it didn't go well. Here is my setup:

cable internet modem as gateway -- pfSense box running the latest pfSense -- switch:

From the switch:
2 desktop computers
1 Access point
1 Xpenology box
1 one linksys VOIP adapter

I am adding the second NAS box running the latest FreeNAS.

The Problem: once the FreeNAS started running for a while, I will lose internet connection to everything: desktop, AP and VOIP adapter. I spent hours, including from scratch installation of pfSense and FreeNAS. Nothing works. The pfSense was setup in default, I did not even run the wizard, just wanted to make sure no firewall rules or other configuration interfering with the FreeNAS box. So was the FreeNAS, no further configuration after the wizard. I then decided to turn this FreeNAS into another Xpenology. All work like a charm.

I have no plan to further trouble shoot as it is very time consuming. I thought i would let people here know there is such an issue, at least to me.

Last edited by a moderator:

Nick2253

Wizard
Honestly, this doesn't really make any sense. I'm not even sure how you concluded that it was some issue with pfSense/FreeNAS compatibility.

I'm interested in troubleshooting this problem, because if there really is a problem here, it's something that needs to get fixed. My immediate thought is an IP address conflict on the network, which might happen if the default IPs that are allocated for jails conflict with something on your network.

EDIT: I just wanted to add that I use pfSense with FreeNAS without any issue, many of my friends do as well, and I know at least a few other forum regulars that also pair the two without problems. I've never heard of a problem like you're describing, but it is incredibly serious, and it concerns me that something else might be lurking out there.

omerome

Dabbler