FreeNAS and hardware configuration

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikeusdev

Dabbler
Hi,

I am new to FreeNAS (although I understand the basic concept) and I am interested to know how, and if, FreeNAS can help me.

I am currently using a DAS, which however had twice in the last year a power problem. Therefore, I had to wait for a new device, which cost me almost a month without being able to use the data that resided on the DAS. I was therefore wondering how to best organize my data, since I don't want my data to reside on a single machine only (I have 3 machines). I was also wondering whether having a hardware RAID configuration is the best solution, since if the RAID hardware is broken, I might lose all my data, if I am unable to reproduce the same RAID configuration.

I read about software RAID being much better, since the hardware underneath (disks) can be reused, since the RAID configuration is not on the hardware. But then I also thought that, maybe, a NAS (FreeNAS) alternative would be best. In short, I want to achieve the following:

1) 3 machine with any OS installed that do not have any data stored.
2) a software RAID or FreeNAS or anything else that I could use as a common storage device to allow clients to read and save data on it
3) a backup hardware solution where data can be synchronized (new/changed files are only processed) on a daily basis with a software or batch procedure (synchronisation has to be fast!!)

Does anyone have any tip or suggestion? Any remark or comment is really appreciated.

Many thanks.
Michael

paleoN

Wizard
I was also wondering whether having a hardware RAID configuration is the best solution, since if the RAID hardware is broken, I might lose all my data, if I am unable to reproduce the same RAID configuration.

I read about software RAID being much better, since the hardware underneath (disks) can be reused, since the RAID configuration is not on the hardware.