SOLVED First NAS Build Help

stavroswtf

Dabbler
Hello guys.
So I am pretty new to this. I have been reading some of the documentation, the hardware guide and watching some YouTube videos and I have come up with this build here: https://de.pcpartpicker.com/list/yYxYBL.

My main use would be having 5 users accessing small files (under 10mb, mostly under 5mb) through Windows SMB share and running a Windows Server VM 24/7 with VPN accessibility. My internet speed is pretty limited (100mbpps). I was thinking of using 4-6 HDDs (haven't really decided yet) with cloned NVME drives for boot and 2 SATA SSDs for caching.

Is this build overkill? Would caching be redundant for my use case and internet speed? Any useful input welcome.

artlessknave

Wizard
insufficient RAM for considering L2ARC (level 2 read cache). there is no disk based write cache. the zfs R/W cache is in RAM already (ARC). because of this, you will generally get the most performance by adding more RAM for ZFS to use.
as that's a workstation motherboard it's not an amazing choice for a server. better than a gaming mobo though.
mobo supports ECC but you appear to have chosen non ECC.
nvme is kind of silly for boot, unless you are using all the sata for data disks. even then, just get an HBA and add 8+ disks. nvme is usually used for VM/app/jail storage.

Last edited:

DigitalMinimalist

Contributor
Is this build overkill? Would caching be redundant for my use case and internet speed? Any useful input welcome.
Yes, if you only access via Internet with 100Mbit (=12.5MB/s). I would even suggest a simple mirror - more than enough…
2x16TB instead of 6x4TB RAIDZ2

No caching SSDs and Mirrored OS is nice to have: you can also export your config and can get TrueNAS up and running in approx 30-60Min…

I suppose you chose the C246 with 9100 for „ECC on a budget“?
I would recommend AMD AM4 instead. Asus and Asrock with a Ryzen 5600, or 4650G and ECC RAM (consider 32GB UDIMM modules)

stavroswtf

Dabbler