First build, low power consumption NAS

pawel30w

Dabbler
Hi All,

First of all I'd like to say hello and express my appreciation on how much good information I have found on this forum!

I am looking to build my first home NAS/Server running FreeNAS. I am total beginner and most of the knowledge it's from this forum and serverbuilds.net (learned basically during last few weeks). I have already read NASKiller 4.0 Topic on serverbuilds.net.

Regaring the NAS, the requirements I think will be:

It's easier for me to start with things that this server will not be required to do:
- Run game servers,
- Host Website
- Run many VM's and other complex stuff.

What this NAS will do:
- Run FreeNAS with Nextcloud
- Store and share backups, photos, videos etc. (NextCloud)
- Store and share 4k movies (Plex)
- Deal with 1-4 home users.
- be a platform for learning new stuff

What this NAS may do:
- Store and run future home CCTV

Other requirements:
- Low power consumption (35-40W TDP CPUs only)
- Cost under £650 ($850)

I am going with ECC route so only i3 or Xeons. I have read somewhere that for future home CCTV i3 will work better than Xeons(?). And the last thing is the power consumption, the above i3 is 35W and I would not like to go above that.

As far as my (limited) knowledge goes that's the core items of the NAS. Please let me know what are your thoughts about them?

P.S. I am based in Bristol, UK and it's hard to get the SuperMicro MB's in reasonable prices. Thats not good as I can see most of the servers here are based on SuperMicro.

Thanks,
Pawel

Inxsible

Guru
Run FreeNAS with Nextcloud
Running Nextcloud itself doesn't take too many resources. Having said that I run Nextcloud in a Proxmox container with 1 GB of RAM and a single vCPU. I do have the data folder on my FreeNAS box however.
Store and share 4k movies (Plex)