File ownership in FreeNAS 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

sherlock

Cadet
Greetings!

I'm quite new to FreeNAS and the underlying FreeBSD as well, so this noob category is just good for me. Let's see, if i'm able to keep it clear and brief at the same time.

My task is to set up a small NAS box providing CIFS for around 7-8 Windows and my linux desktop at the office. The box is up and running its test course right now with users/groups/shares set up according to the target environment. Every workgroup (development, manufacturing, controlling...) can access their dedicated share. So far so good. I'm really graceful for this great piece of software.

So what am i so curious about this file ownership thing?

One of the volumes (which is a zfs dataset) has set office.nobody as owner and office.controlling as group in its permissions pane. The user above is a dummy and the account is locked. According to my setup, the three users in that group can access the share bound to that volume.

The strange thing for me is that files created by joe of group office.controlling shows up being owned by user office.nobody. I confess, i hoped that the creator would become the owner of any file - would have helped to keep up a good oversight on things.

Here come my questions about it:
  • Is this the natural behaviour of FreeNAS? (or FreeBSD)
  • Can i make it the other way? (Creator gains ownership)
  • If yes, could anyone please give me a clue on this? (Some documentation maybe - the more in-depth, the better; i'm aware i have to study FreeBSD as well - but it's not the right moment)

Have a nice day, folks!

coe

Cadet
Its a missing tick box that is being fixed for RC3 or final, but while waiting for this to happen:

option is to edit /conf/base/etc/rc.d/ix-samba, and remove the line 'inherit owner = yes'
then copy to /etc/rc.d/ix-samba

this makes change persistent through reboots. If you don't wan't to edit the base conf files, you can do it via

/usr/local/etc/smb.conf