Failure during pool extension, empty drive stuck in pool but unused

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mikrz

Cadet
So I know this isn't fully how FreeNAS is meant to be set up initially but this is my first time with Freenas. luckily, my data isn't so important that I can't risk losing some.

Freenas version: FreeNAS-11-MASTER-201708240435
CPU: Intel core i3-6100
RAM: 8gb ddr4

I'm running Nightly as I was having issues with a drive import previously and running nightly allowed me to get the update. Is it possible to switch to a non-nightly train? I understand you cannot "downgrade" however I'm not against installing a stable train if there's a method of transferring configuration.

To get started, I had a 4TB red in the nas, and a 4TB to be added to it. I did my research, I understand that there will be no protection against either drive failing with this method. I went through the steps to extend the pool with the empty 4TB and selected "stripe" as the option. The progress bar sat around for a while, then the window closed and all seemed ok, except the console log at the bottom showed two entries of "Operation Not Permitted" on the new drive. I check my dataset list and it's showing it as only having 4~ terabytes of storage. Far less than the 7 something I expected with a stripe. I attempted to research what the issue could be, and found people saying that wiping the drive (the new drive was previously NTFS before I wiped it via Windows) before import can fix the issue, however it seems despite the issues importing FreeNAS just went ahead and striped what it could anyways. So I try the wipe option in freenas's volume manager, and it tells me to unmount my only "volume" (the striped one I suppose). Well, it's too late now to really go back, so I decided to just give it a shot. perhaps FreeNAS got stuck somewhere and detaching and re-importing my volumes will fix it.