SOLVED Ethernet intermittent

Status
Not open for further replies.

Glorious1

Guru
I'm a real newb when it comes to networking. And I'm not sure this is strictly FreeNAS related, but it might be.

I have a Motorola cable modem/router with 4 ethernet ports and wifi. Generally I've had FreeNAS connected to the router via LAN1 and the dedicated IPMI port, but IPMI also works over LAN1 if the IPMI cable is not connected. Client computers also connect to the router. It has always seemed to work well.

Lately I've noticed when I connect my laptop to ethernet, and turn off wifi, any kind of connection to FreeNAS can become intermittently slow, then disconnect completely. This applies to SSH, AFP, and HTTP.

There is no such problem using wifi. I'm not sure if there is a problem over ethernet to the internet, but if there is it is not as obvious. I've tried connecting another computer to ethernet the same way and also saw the problem. I've changed cables and it makes no difference. So hopefully I've ruled out client computers and cables.

Is there a way to connect my laptop straight to FreeNAS, without going through the router? When I've tried that I get no connection of any kind. If I could do that, I could maybe see if the problem is the router or the server.

Glorious1

Guru
A bit of progress - I was able to hook a cable directly from my laptop to the server. Apparently the tricks are
1. The wifi has to be switched off on the laptop, and;
2. The server cannot also be connected to the router.

Does that make sense? Or am I missing something?

Anyway, so far, the ethernet coms have been stable with a direct hookup. If this persists, my suspicion will be focussed on the Motorola modem/router. While fooling around, I've already noticed that the top ethernet port on the router doesn't light up when you plug something into it. Plug it into one of the others and you get flashing LEDs. Could it be if one port is dead, the others are compromised?

nojohnny101

Wizard