ESXi and FreeNAS - I know....

Status
Not open for further replies.

saiyan78

Cadet
I know Im not supposed to ask but I am getting conflicting answers when I read the forum.
Let me start out by saying I'm new to FreeNAS but not ESXi.
Some forums say its ok, some say don't do it.
From what i have gathered is that if done wrong there is no real RAID redundancy.
Im not quite sure as to why, but i assume its the way the ESXi creates the space for the FreeNAS.
Some posts have given ways around this and some people have said that it doesnt really work.
So my questions are,
Is it really do able? If so can you provide a link to the instruction that explain how?
Has the new 6.0 version fixed any errors?
Could i just install the ESXi on one single drive. Then once it is up add the drives and install FreeNAS and have it use the drives in a RAID? would that fix it?
AGAIN, I know and thanks for any and all help and please bare with me as I am new.

Kris

FlynnVT

Dabbler
Running ZFS on VMDK drives, themselves stored in VMFS volumes may give the illusion of proper redundancy in FreeNAS, but you could be doing any number of silly things outside the VM to destroy that. e.g. having multiple VMDK "drives" stored in a single non-redundant VMFS volume. Also, you'd have a lot to rebuild and set back up before you get access to your data if you ever needed to recover from an outright system failure.

I can understand why people are very much against this path: few upsides, many downsides.

However, ESXi also gives the option of passing physical discs through to FreeNAS - either as RDMs or by mapping a HBA/SATA controller to the VM via PCI passthrough.