Emby not finding individual media files, or Seasons

Status
Not open for further replies.

zirophyz

Dabbler
Hi guys,

Seems like a permissions problem with the emby plugin. Network engineer by trade, I have some nix experience and I'd like to think enough to get myself into trouble (and occasionally out).

So, I've installed the plugin via the UI. This all works fine. I've mapped storage to the jail and this seems fine too. I connect to the emby jail (jexec # /bin/tcsh) and can browse to my media via the mapped path, can get all the way into TV Shows, Seasons and view episodes. While in the jail, I su to emby and can confirm I can view everything (well, get into directories etc).

To achieve this, I added the emby user and emby group into FreeNAS UI with the same user and group numbers that the jail emby user was using. This is 989:989. All of my media dirs and files are owned by media:media (816:816) to allow Sonarr/Couchpotato etc to read/write. Everything has permissions of 774 (rwxrwxr). The emby user has media as a secondary group, but it's primary group is emby.

I also have my own personal user, it has it's own group but secondary group of media as well. That user can read/write files that are owned by media:media just fine. I've kind of done the same with the emby user, just matched the ID's of the user already in the jail, which I believe the emby daemon is running under.

So, in Emby itself it will find all my shows, movies, artwork etc fine but when you go into a show it's Seasons are empty. Seems like it just isn't finding either the eps or maybe it can't get into the Season dirs (assuming it won't display empty Seasons). Seeing as though I can't replicate this issue using the emby user in the jail I'm starting to run out of ideas. Maybe I need to change the emby daemon to run as media:media?

Would love help if anyone else has faced this or could potentially help me out where I've mucked up permissions! :) TIA.

zirophyz

Dabbler