Drive Configuration

CCA

Cadet
Hello,

I am new to server configuration and would appreciate your help. My near term goals for this home server are:
  1. BlueIris NVR
  2. Network storage
  3. Backup camera and network storage data
  4. Firewall
  5. Remote access to cameras
  6. VPN security at both ends
Here is what I have so far:

Hardware:
PC: HP EliteDesk 800 G2 Mini, Quad-Core i7-6700T 16GB DDR4,1TB SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit​
Added Drive: SAMSUNG 980 PRO SSD with Heatsink 2TB PCIe Gen 4 NVMe M.2​
Software Running:
ProxMox on NVMe drive​
Virtualized Windows 10 pro machine​
Virtualized Ubuntu Machine​
Virtualized TrueNAS Core​
Current Drive Configuration:
Kingfast 1TB SSD pooled in TrueNAS and accessible via other computers on network. This was done using qm set command in ProxMox shell.​
I'm pleased with the progress I have made so fare but am a bit lost as to how to proceed with the drive configurations.
  1. Can I use the NVMe drive to back up/mirror the SATA SSD or do I need more drives (maybe using a dual USB NVMe enclosure)?
  2. Is a TrueNAS mirror the same as a Raid0?
  3. Since ProxMox is on the NVMe drive, can I still use it for camera storage?
  4. Should I use drive sharing across the VMs or assign them individually?
  5. How do I backup the server configuration itself?
Much Appreciated!

danb35

Hall of Famer
Is a TrueNAS mirror the same as a Raid0?
No, it's similar to RAID1.

Since ProxMox is on the NVMe drive, can I still use it for camera storage?
Not with TrueNAS. Of course, if you're running BlueIris under Proxmox itself, rather than under TrueNAS (which is the only sensible way to go if your TrueNAS installation is virtualized anyway), you probably can, but you should ask on the Proxmox forums rather than here.
Kingfast 1TB SSD pooled in TrueNAS and accessible via other computers on network. This was done using qm set command in ProxMox shell.
This is not likely to be a safe configuration.

CCA

Cadet
Thank you for your replies.