SOLVED Disk full - Can't delete any files. Please Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

an303042

Cadet
Hello,

First let me say - I am very new to freenas. This is my first machine, and I have done very little with it so far.
I have two 3TB disks (mirrored) and its used for Acronis true image making backups from 3 computers on my home network.
Acronis was a little hungry and didn't delete old backups, and now the nas volume is totally full. As a result, i can't delete any of the files on the nas. this is pretty funny imo, and makes me think that zfs might not really be ready for general use.
But, before i jump to conclusions, i need to get myself out of this sticky situation.
i found this thread: http://forums.freenas.org/showthread.php?10246-8-3-Out-of-space-cannot-delete and even thought i didn't really understand everything that's written there, i tried it out myself, but kept getting the "No space left on device" error, when i tired executing the commands mentioned through the shell in the freenas webgui.
So, any help would be very appreciated! first to delete some files, and second to prevent this from happening in the future.
Thanks!

cyberjock

Inactive Account
this is pretty funny imo, and makes me think that zfs might not really be ready for general use.

I'm sorry, but I LOL'd at that. Enterprises use this, so I'd say it's been ready for "general use" for years...

AFAIK there is no recovery from a zpool that is 100% full. That's a drawback with CoW file systems. I believe your only fix is to destroy the zpool and start over(obviously copy any data you want first).