Creating first (user defined) dataset in TrueNAS CORE 13

ehansin

Cadet
Hi everyone,

I am kind of new to ZFS, but know a little and learning. I am finally getting around to setting up a new TrueNAS Mini X we purchased. I upgraded the installed CORE version from 12 to 13, and am now at the current 13 U3 release. May not matter here, but just for some context...

The purpose of the NAS is to create an SMB shared file storage. "Out of the box", the system on the spinning disks portion has a ZFS pool called "tank" and a dataset within this tank pool called "iocage", which of course I am sure is not news to people here.

My question is, just to make sure I am doing the right thing, should I just create a second dataset (first user-define dataset) within the "tank" pool? I would then of course expose/map that dataset to Samba/SMB to make accessible to user clients.

Again, might be obvious to those more knowledgeable than myself, but seems the right thing, just want to make sure I am doing the right thing before migrating a bunch of data over to this. As a side note, I already upgraded the ZFS pools to the latest version ("This system is currently running ZFS filesystem version 5. All filesystems are formatted with the current version.") just to get that out of the way.

Thanks!
Eric

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
Last edited:

ehansin

Cadet
Thanks Samuel! I just wanted to make sure I didn't need to create a new zpool, but I am starting to understand the concepts enough to realize that the current default "tank" zpool is what is residing on the vdevs (i.e. spinning disks) as a mirrored config, and so on this already existing "tank" pool I can create the additional dataset I need for the file/data storage. No need to delete the default tank zpool and just create anew. At least that makes the most sense to me. Again, still solidifying my understanding on the core concepts, but getting there.

And thanks for the links, very helpful!

Arwen

MVP