Constant ixnas vfs module errors that set_native_dos_mode operation is not permitted

parth

Dabbler
Hi All,

I wanted to get to the bottom of some strange behaviour in my TrueNAS Core 13.0-U2 system. I have a couple of large Samba shares configured here and all seems to be working fine. But my /var/log/samba4/log.smbd file is constantly flooded with the following errors:

Code:
[2022/09/28 19:04:04.495591,  1] ../../source3/modules/vfs_ixnas.c:134(ixnas_set_native_dosmode)
  ixnas_set_native_dosmode: Setting dosmode failed for /path/to/some/shared/file.pdf: Operation not permitted

I think this may have something to do with some samba misconfiguration on my part. I did not find much on the vfs_ixnas module online or elsewhere in the forums. So I'm seeking the help of the TrueNAS and Samba experts here to help me get to the bottom of this. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My share configuration is as follows:

Code:
# Global parameters
[global]
    bind interfaces only = Yes
    disable spoolss = Yes
    dns proxy = No
    enable web service discovery = Yes
    kernel change notify = No
    load printers = No
    logging = file
    max log size = 5120
    nsupdate command = /usr/local/bin/samba-nsupdate -g
    registry shares = Yes
    restrict anonymous = 2
    server multi channel support = No
    server role = standalone server
    server string = TrueNAS Server
    unix extensions = No
    idmap config *: range = 90000001-100000000
    fruit:nfs_aces = No
    idmap config * : backend = tdb
    directory name cache size = 0
    dos filemode = Yes

[MyShare]
    case sensitive = Yes
    comment = My Documents
    ea support = No
    inherit owner = windows and unix
    inherit permissions = Yes
    kernel share modes = No
    path = /mnt/tank/myshare
    posix locking = No
    read only = No
    smbd max xattr size = 2097152
    vfs objects = fruit streams_xattr shadow_copy_zfs ixnas zfs_core aio_fbsd
    fruit:resource = stream
    fruit:metadata = stream