Connection FreeBSD software to GUI within TrueNAS?

matclou

Dabbler
Dear community,

I have a rather general understanding question in relation to the use of FreeBSD jails - in which I am a real beginner.

As I understand, there are several softwares that can be installed on FreeBSD and that are collected here: https://www.freebsd.org/de/ports/

My question relates to the graphical representation: Do I understand it correctly that these "ports" and packages have normally not implemented a graphical interface? And, that one then normally uses XORG and connects it to this application? - as described here: https://docs.freebsd.org/en/books/handbook/x11/#x-config

Does this also work when using FreeBSD as Jails within TrueNAS, where a monitor or similar is not directly available? How would you approach the graphical interface? What are good alternatives? Are there good instructions how to realise it?

Best regards

matclou

Patrick M. Hausen

Hall of Famer
You need an X11 server for your desktop environment. With X11 forwarding over SSH you can then run UI applications in a FreeBSD jail.

The question is why you would want to do that? Are you thinking of things that are not available for your desktop OS? Which ones in particular and which desktop OS?

The most common use for jails is running server applications that do not have a native UI but present e.g. a web interface. Nextcloud, Grafana, Gitlab, ...

danb35

Hall of Famer
Do I understand it correctly that these "ports" and packages have normally not implemented a graphical interface?