Confirm this build layout is appropriate for ESXi with 10 hosts and about 25-30 VMs.

Status
Not open for further replies.

zimmy6996

Explorer
Good morning all ... I've been using FreeNAS now in my ESXi environment for about 7 months, and have been very pleased. @jgreco will likely remember talking to me when I stood up my last system. There was a lot of great info you all provided back then to get me started. While my last build was kind of a "hackers hobby", now I'm trying to standardize on a solid build to migrate over to, and provide increased speed along with path for future growth.

Just a refresher. Right now, Ive got a storage environment of a FreeNAS box with about 15TB of usable storage, running RAIDZ2. (7 3TB disks, with a hot spare). Yes, I know that isn't idea for ESXi. I was dealing with what I had at the time, with the space I needed. The network backend on this old box is two 1GB ethernet connections. I have both interfaces IPd up, and I use MPIO from ESXi to talk to the storage backend, not LACP, since that doesn't seem to work with a darn. System is dual XEON hex cores, with 96GB RAM. I have 20GB of Intel S3700 space (from 2 x 100GB drives) set for SLOG. I have a 20GB part on each, mirrors. I then have 160GB of JBOD space with the 2 remaining 80GB parts for L2ARC.

All in all, for my workloads, performance is acceptable. There are times the system comes under load, like with an Microsoft Exchange server does maintenance on a Exchange DB. But again, it's be tolerable.

I have a 2nd NAS that is running Windows Storage Server 2012 R2. I won't bother with the specs, because this box is going away.

Right now, the 2 NAS boxes are used solely for iSCSI storage for ESXi.

The goal now is to build two new boxes, with "best practices" and migrate everything over to the new FreeNAS boxes, and retire these old hodge podge pieces of crap.