Completely new to freenas

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey, everyone, I am completely new to FreeNAS and can't wait to learn what I can about it. At the moment I'm researching about a FreeNAS/Plex media server build for me and my family so that is my main motive to getting into building a server.

AngryHat

Dabbler
Hey, Welcome Sir!! Looks like we are in the same boat. I am new as well, im just trying to figure it all out as well.

Hey, Welcome Sir!! Looks like we are in the same boat. I am new as well, I'm just trying to figure it all out as well.
Thanks, I really appreciate it. but ya I have watched a bunch of youtube video's and also have been asking questions on Reddit trying to get a build put together and I have somewhat of one that I think will fit for what I need.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Welcome aboard. I would suggest checking out the hardware recommendations in the resources section at the top of the page. Some of the youtube videos out there are of dubious quality.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Welcome aboard. I would suggest checking out the hardware recommendations in the resources section at the top of the page. Some of the youtube videos out there are of dubious quality.
Thanks for the welcome and ya already starting to read the quick hardware guide right now.

Unless those videos have been produced in the last 36months, they should be ignored!

Corrected that for you Jailer ;)
duly noted

danb35

Hall of Famer
Repeating what's already been said, but to clarify a bit--at one time, FreeNAS was positioned as a way to turn any cheap piece of castoff hardware into a NAS. To the extent that was ever the case, it no longer is. Its hardware requirements aren't onerous, but it does demand server-grade hardware for stability and data integrity. This doesn't need to be expensive--you can buy a suitable, albeit low-end, server pre-built for $200. Add some RAM and your disks, and you're ready to go.