Completely lost my pool

Status
Not open for further replies.

losip

Cadet
Hi, I'm fairly new to FreeNAS but v8.0.2 has run successfully for a couple of months. I have one ZFS-1 pool created using 5 x 2Tb disks and one of these recently failed. I followed the instructions for replacing the drive and it finished resilvering after two days. So far, so good. However, when I tried the command: zpool detach Array /dev/ada1/old, I got the reply: No such device. I then went to the GUI and tried to auto-import the volume which returned an error message and my whole pool/volume disappeared.

Back to the console, I tried a zpool status and that said "no pools available", while zpool import shows a degraded set of disks but says that the pool can be imported. zpool import Array (the pool name is Array) rattles the disk drives for a while and then says: "failed to create mountpoint" and after that zpool import returns nothing until after a reboot. I have tried mkdir /mnt/Array both before and after the import but it makes no difference.

Have I completely destroyed my volume or am I doing something wrong. Any help would be much appreciated and avoid losing 7Tb of data (fortunately just inconvenient; not critical).

Attachments

• IMAG0348.jpg
    IMAG0348.jpg
    97.2 KB · Views: 264

ProtoSD

MVP
Have I completely destroyed my volume or am I doing something wrong. Any help would be much appreciated and avoid losing 7Tb of data (fortunately just inconvenient; not critical).

It sounds like you're doing something wrong. Try this from the command line:

mount -uw /

mkdir /mnt/Array (This is will be your TEMPORARY mountpoint, it *should be* the same name as your pool)

zpool import Array

If that works, your data is fine, you just need to get it to autoimport from the GUI. I recommend upgrading to 8.0.3-p1
The GUI may be confused about the devices in your old/new pool.

EDIT: If the command line works above, then export your pool, zpool export Array