Come here to send your rotten tomatoes at my first build ;)

DrZombi

Dabbler
Good evening Ladies and Gentlemen,

Here is my try at building a FreeNAS configuration. I've read a lot here on the forums and found a lot of very useful information (thanks everybody !!) so I hope I will be able to dodge some of your tomatoes but I'm here for it anyway so please don't hesitate to challenge my build and tell me if you find something wrong. The primary goal is just to build a file server for home but very resilient (I've had some pretty nasty experiences with other solutions). But I may also extend the use of the FreeNAS in the future to serve other different purpose.

Before I go on with the description and links, please keep in mind that: Yes, I know that my configuration will be overkill for my primary objective to just have a big file repository at home but since I work in IT, I will also use this personnal project as a way to learn more about FreeNAS and ZFS. (That's mainly the reason why I'll buy a SLOG which otherwise would not be that much useful for a pure file server).

So I have this in mind:

Motherboard SuperMicro X11SSL-CF (because I want the smallest form factor but would also like to be able to go with as much as 64 GB of RAM if needed since I've read here that you cannot have too much RAM and that a rule of thumb of 1GB of RAM per 1TB of storage is not a bad idea). Also I wanted to go RAIDZ-2, hence 8 disks to minimize the cost of parity and so, the integrated SAS Controller was a must have so that I still have the internal SATAs for SLOG devices, boot disks, etc...
I know that I will need to flash the SAS controller with a passthrough firmware. I remember having read somewhere that I can just ask it to SuperMicro support. Can anyone confirm this or share a link if it's available somewhere ?