Cluster and Dell vs Supermicro

Status
Not open for further replies.

titusc

Dabbler
Hi I'm new to server land and certainly storage. I want to build an expandable storage for my web portal running database, saving and serving files and mails on the storage. Think FreeNAS fits to bill for me to start with small (say 32TB) and grow large (say 1PB if it does get large).

Option 1
Two nodes (Cluster in a Box) connecting to incremental 24 bays or 60 bays JBOD enclosures. Both DataOn and SuperMicro have these Cluster in a Box solutions but I don't see anyone mentioning them here. Is it possible with FreeNAS and if yes any preferable models?

Option 2
Dell 720xd with 24 bays + 2 disks in RAID 1 for the OS. Then connect also incremental external JBOD enclosures. Has anyone use this Dell model?

Also how does the 2 nodes (presumably with different IPs) be able to serve requests at the same time as one unit? How is this achieved? I think Nexanta does this but don't understand how and whether FreeNAS has this.

And should I size the nodes' memory size based on total disk based storage size?

Thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
There are some limitations as you go very very big. If performance is important, going with a server that has a 1PB pool/pools will get excessively expensive over having 2 or 3 smaller ones. When people want a single very big server, you pay for it, bigtime. So keep that in mind. Quite often 3 smaller servers can be faster, more reliable, and far cheaper than 1 big server.

As for those enclosures, as long as they are compatible with FreeBSD, you should be able to use them. I'd avoid the Dell unless you can test it before using it. Had lots of problems with proprietary Dell stuff, and Supermicro is far more "just works".

bigphil

Patron