CIFS - NAS4Free=100MB/Sec, Freenas=~40MB/Sec - Same System, Same Volumes (ZFS)

Status
Not open for further replies.

enly1

Cadet
Hi all,

Really struggling to stay with freenas as I can't get the performance I know the system can provide.

I am a Freenas noob, so please allow for that in the commentary and also, I'm not a nas4free advocate - I just tried a liveCD to see if it made any difference to cifs performace as I can't get a fast system (HP Microserver N40L + 2GB RAM + 2x500GB Raid1 ZFS)

PS - I've scanned many other posts and tried lots of random stuff, but nothing seems to make any differences.
I'm changing settings and restarting cifs service each time, so hopefully thats enough to pick up the changes for non-cifs settings I was tweeking.

So here we go (on my machine Freenas):

1. CIFS performance on Freenas 8.2 p1 is poor ~ 40Mbit/Sec transferring 2GB File to Desktop on Gigabit Switch with lots of transfer speed instability.
2. iPerf = 940Mbit/Sec with window sizes of 64K+, 8K=260Mbit/Sec / 16k=420Mbit/Sec / 32k=740Mbit/Sec
3. DD reads to /dev/null result in :

[root@freenas] # dd if=/mnt/mdata/personal/Movies.tc of=/dev/null bs=2k
1011712+0 records in
1011712+0 records out
2071986176 bytes transferred in 29.724186 secs (69707079 bytes/sec)

[root@freenas] # dd if=/mnt/mdata/personal/Movies.tc of=/dev/null bs=1m
1976+0 records in
1976+0 records out
2071986176 bytes transferred in 24.151185 secs (85792319 bytes/sec)

[root@freenas] # dd if=/mnt/mdata/personal/Movies.tc of=/dev/null bs=1500
1381324+1 records in
1381324+1 records out
2071986176 bytes transferred in 30.831289 secs (67204007 bytes/sec)

Quick Nas4Free test ( mounting the same zfs disks/volumes and exporting through cifs ):

1. Cifs Performance on Nas4Free - Stellar ~ 100MB/Sec sustained stable for the same file transfer.

So hardware wise, the box can do it, but freenas seems to be much slower.

I've compared smb.conf and can't see any material differences.