Can't seem to add more than 2 CPUs to VM

royalba94

Cadet
Hey everyone, I'm pretty new to FreeNAS and everything so I'm sorry if there's something obvious.

I'm trying to create a windows 10 VM with 6 or 8 cores but everytime I make one in FreeNAS using the UI it only ends up with 2 cores no matter what I put in the cores field. It also does not change if I try and edit after I do the original install.

Am I missing something here?

I am running the latest version (11.2-U2.1 I believe) - tried this before and after updating with the same result :/

Thanks!

P.S. If you guys know of a good guide for updating the plex plugin that would be cool :)

Nvious1

Explorer
P.S. If you guys know of a good guide for updating the plex plugin that would be cool

There used to be a gui Update menu button that didn't work. Currently you need to go to the shell via the GUI or remote and type
iocage update <jailName>
and it will pull updates for the plugin. After updating, you need to either go to the plugins page and start the plugin or you can simply
iocage start <jailName>

Nvious1

Explorer
I'm trying to create a windows 10 VM with 6 or 8 cores

Review this link: https://www.ateamsystems.com/tech-blog/howto-windows-10-bhyve-w-freebsd-11/

It states:
Bhyve, by default, however presents each core as a physical CPU to the guest OS, thus if you try to give Windows more than 2 CPUs it will only see the first two.
Additional Windows 10 is a desktop OS so its built to support 2 physical CPUs and update 256 cores. Follow that link and it will show you what sysctl to add. You can add the sysctl in the FreeNAS GUI under the System menu as a Tunable.

blanchet

Guru
You have to specify the CPU core topology with FreeNAS tunables:

How to:
  • if your CPU has 8 physical cores, then
    • System | Tunable | Add
    • Variable: hw.vmm.topology.cores_per_package
    • Value: 8
    • Type: loader
    • Comment: Physical cores per socket
  • if your CPU supports also hyperthreading, then