can't install freenas to custom computer :\

Status
Not open for further replies.

jumpy

Explorer
Hey I've really hit a roadblock. I'm trying to install FreeNAS to my custom server, but when I put the cd in it won't work. It runs fine on my laptop but not the server.

I've also tried installing Ubuntu 12, Ubuntu Server, Windows 7, OpenIndiana (it actually worked...once) and none of them will respond the way they're supposed to.

Windows 7 says the OS is missing a file and that I need to install (when all I'm doing is booting the dvd), Ubuntu won't do anything but blink "_"
OpenIndiana freezes at the load screen
Ubuntu 12 says: "error: failure reading sector 0x5b500 from 'cd0'"
FreeNAS tries bootloader but then just stays there

I could really use some help, this is my first build and I'm out of external and laptop drive space :\

If you need I can post my hardware stats. Appreciate it

ramius

Dabbler
As you are describing you issues it seems to me that you have a memory problem. When you try to intall Windows XP on computer and it randomly fails to copy som file, it often is a faulty memory module.

jumpy

Explorer
How do I figure out which stick is bad? I have 4x 8gb sticks. Also I've noticed that the dvd drive has been shutting off after it begins to read

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Here's how I narrow down bad RAM.

Run MEMTEST on the system with the RAM left installed. If it passes 3 full passes, then the RAM isn't the problem.

If the RAM is the problem, start testing the RAM 1 stick at a time. Let each stick go through 3 passes each until you find the bad RAM stick.

If they all pass individually, but you have failures when the RAM is fully installed, then more creative thinking is in order. :) We'll worry about that if you end up in that situation.

ramius

Dabbler
It's simple, there are 2 options
Try puttin in 1 by 1 or take out 1 by 1, until it works correctly. Apply it to pairs if you system only takes dual channel, but also mixing the pairs.