Can't access TrueNAS via web user interface except from host PC of VMware Workstaion Player

xq0404

Dabbler
I have successfully installed both TrueNAS Core and TureNAS Scale on VMware Workstaion Player under Windows 10 professional edition. But except from host PC, I cannot access TrueNAS via web user interface in all other devices in my local area network at home. As a newbie, I'm quite frustrated. Now only the host PC can access the TrueNAS normally. By the way, I did not change any default option as I dare not configure network interfaces.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I dare not configure network interfaces.
VMware Workstaion Player under Windows 10 professional

So how were you expecting this to work, then? It is doing EXACTLY what is expected. Workstation creates networks by default under a NAT engine. When you go into the Virtual Machine Settings and click on "Network Adapter", under the Network connection properties it'll show you as attached to "NAT: Used to share the host's IP address". If your PC is on wired ethernet, you can probably change this to "Bridged" mode to place the VM on the same ethernet as your home network. You probably won't be able to do that for wifi; wifi is weird about bridging.

xq0404

Dabbler
Thank you. I have changed it to "Bridged" mode to copy physical network connection status, and also created a static IP address 10.238.15.194, but the new web user interface can no longer be accessed via this static address.

Last edited:

xq0404

Dabbler
What address do you get if you let it DHCP?
The original web user interface for TrueNAS Core is 192.168.174.128. The web user interface for TrueNAS Scale is 192.168.174.129, Nameserver (DHCP):192.168.174.2
Should I have turned off WebDAV service? Or should I leave the "copy physical network connection status" box beside "Bridged" option unchecked?

Last edited:

jgreco

Resident Grinch