can't access FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darren Morris

Dabbler
Hi ive setup a freenas server and had it up and running fine, but ive had to reset my windows 10 pc and now i cant access it at all. it shows up in my network but i cant map the drive im not sure whats happening here
any help please

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Details make a difference.
What exactly did you do to the Windows PC?
Did anything change on the FreeNAS?
Are you still able to access the FreeNAS web GUI?
What have you tried with regard to access to the storage?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I537 using Tapatalk

Darren Morris

Dabbler
Hi i just reinstalled windows
yes i can access the web GUI
I have tried to map the drive from my pc in windows
ive followed a few tutorials on changing some windows components from add and remove windows components
and started a fresh install of freenas
also im quite new to this so not that technical but able to follow a tutorial

Redcoat

MVP
It sounds like you might be suffering from the effects of the removal of smb1 from Windows 10 if what you did was just install the most up to date version of W10 (Version 1803) and are using FreeNAS 11.1-U6.

If you search here you will find multiple threads on the topic of smb1 removal - but start by looking at "Known Impacts" on this link https://www.ixsystems.com/blog/library/freenas-11-1-u6/

Darren Morris

Dabbler
thanks but ive done all that for the last two days and im still no further forward just pulling my hair out now

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Have you tried going to the share by using the IP address? There are some stange circumstances with Windows that will sometimes not allow you to browse a network properly. It will find other Windows systems and not show any Non Windows systems. I have had to fight the issue several times.

Darren Morris

Dabbler
what i tried was map network drive and put the ip of the freenas in the box and still no go it says network path not recognised

Chris Moore