Cannot reliably restore replicated backups from second node

0x3d638c8e

Cadet

Cannot reliably restore TrueNas backups​

I have two TrueNAS SCALE instances, on separate machines. The main instance, nas, had to have the zfs pool re-created and backups restored. This is causing me many issues.

Setup​

Let me preface this by saying I'm new to zfs (one of the reasons of choosing TrueNAS), coming from traditional ext4 + LUKS. I've set up the original pool via CLI and imported it (trying out OMV before).

The main instance, nas, has a structure like

Code:
tank/enc/ # <- encrypted
tank/enc/backups
tank/enc/backups/timemachine
tank/enc/backups/windows
tank/enc/data
tank/enc/data/whatever
tank/downloads # <- unencrypted and not backed up

The backup node

Code:
tank/enc/ # <- encrypted
tank/enc/backups
tank/enc/backups/nas # <- for backing up zfs data from the first node
tank/enc/backups/nas/backups/timemachine # <- mirrored the original nodes structure, just 2 levels deeper
# <- note how there is no backups/windows, since there is nothing of value worth backing up redudantly
tank/enc/backups/nas/data
tank/enc/backups/nas/data/whatever

Automatic snapshots are set up on the lowest datasets in the tree for some datasets, not recursive on their parents, since i e.g. do not want to back up some 2T of ultimately replaceable Windows data.

Others, in this case e.g. tank/enc/data have recursive snapshots configured, since I plan on backing up the whole dataset and its children. I am not sure if that's a mistake or best practice.

Code:
#tank/enc/ 
#tank/enc/backups
tank/enc/backups/timemachine # <- snapshots here
tank/enc/backups/windows # <- snapshots here
tank/enc/data # <- recursive snapshots here
#tank/enc/data/whatever # <- snapshots inherited from parent

In the same vein, automatic replication is set up similarly:

Code:
#tank/enc/ 
#tank/enc/backups
tank/enc/backups/timemachine # -> tank/enc/backups/nas/backups/timemachine 
#tank/enc/backups/windows # goes nowhere