Can I downgrade FreeNAS 8 to 7 or is trying a 8.2 BETA possible? and Nas4Free???

Status
Not open for further replies.

t0ny

Dabbler
Hi, I have installed FreeNAS 8. (I am a total FN Noob and all my exp is in Windows)

I plugged the USB pen in a brand new HP MicroServer (no monitor/input devices) waited a min or two then connected to the web gui and it was all running. Very impressive!
Everything I have set-up is working fine, 3 drives (no redundancy) shared (UFS) to my Windows 7 machines. At this point I'm thinking this is all excellent!

That's about 70% of what I want to do. I foolishly did not read the comparison chart and I now found out that I can't stream to my XBOX360 or run as an iTunes server.

So, looking through the forums I see many are sticking with version 7. I would like to change to something with support for the above, but without losing all the files on these UFS drives?

Options appear to be:

Downgrade to FreeNas 7
Switch to Nas4Free (This seems to be a supported version of 7 on a newer version of FreeBSD?)
Try FreeNAS beta 8.2 (Does a firmware upgrade take me to this or do I specify the ISO?)

As I said I am a noob and have no experience with FreeBSD I do not know how to get myself out of this situation.

Can I switch to any of these options without losing all my current data? The Beta scares me as I do not want to mess about too often!

Any hints/help would be much appreciated.

Thanks

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I can't make any comments about FreeNAS 7 since I never used it and I know there's alot of if/buts to upgrading and downgrading, but it sounds like you should stay on version 8 and wait for the release version(or perhaps a release candidate) of 8.2 appears. The Betas are still somewhat unreliable and the plugins don't quite work perfectly yet. I also don't recommend running betas or release candidates if you care about your data. You don't want to be in the position of losing your data because you were beta testing.