Cadet
Hi everyone,

I have a 4 devices at home which I use actively
1. A windows 8 notebook
2. A Macbook pro (Mavericks)
3. An iPad
4. An iPhone

I also have a quad-core desktop which I am not using

They're not really networked... but basically access internet through the same router.

-Is it possible to build a NASbox on the desktop and have all devices backup onto it without building a domain network?
-I would also like to travel with my iPad and access my files through it rather than lug my computers around... hence a need for remote access...
-If there is already a guide for this ...PLEASE point me towards it... else I could start a step by step How-to thread (of course under all the guidance I get here) for such a network for absolute newbies... who have no idea about domains... DNS etc...

regards
Alok

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
You do not need a domain in order to run a file server. If they are all on the same router, on the same subnet, then they are indeed networked.

A guide? Just read the FreeNAS documentation and decide if it is right for you. You do not need to understand domains, DNS, or networks for a simple file server. You will, however, need to man up and learn something about VPN if you want remote access, or learn how to set up OwnCloud plugin.

Alokm

Cadet
Thanks Pirateghost... I've been trying... :(
Can't seem to get the hang of VPN as yet (doesn't mean I'm giving up)... but isn't a domain server a part of VPN setup... or am I getting muddled up.. :P ... How can I use dyndns for remote access... can't seem to find the right direction...

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Dyndns is merely a DNS entry on the internet that points to your IP address. Nothing more. It is a pointer, telling machines that request the domain name where they should be directed.