BUILD Build from replaced enterprise equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.

Turgin

Dabbler
Hello,

My background is a senior level network engineer for a large energy company so I feel I am reasonably tech savvy but I don't get to "play" with storage and servers at work. I just want to build a decent home lab mostly for fun, but I do have about 1TB of the usual family data of pictures, movies, etc that I'd like to keep safe as well.

We are doing a hardware refresh in one of our test/dev environments at work and I will be acquiring the
following parts from Cisco UCS blades and NetApp filers:

4 x Xeon X5570 4c/8t @ 2.933 Ghz LGA1366
2 x Xeon X5670 6c/12t @ 2.933 Ghz LGA1366
18 x 4GB DDR3-1333 ECC RAM
12 X 8GB DDR3-1333 ECC RAM
8 x 16GB DDR3-1066 ECC RAM
2 x Intel 710 series 100GB SSD
14 x Hitachi DK7SAA200 2TB SATA2 7200 RPM drives

I want to build at least one FreeNAS box and an ESXi host. Maybe build an additional FreeNAS for backups. We're about 2 months away from being done with the refresh so I'm using this time to read, read, read and plan, plan, plan.

I'm looking for the best deal I can find on two (or three) Supermicro X8DTE-F motherboards (or similar) on eBay. Also researching cases, power supplies, and CPU heatsink/fans.

My questions:

1. Are the Hitachi drives acceptable for now? I can't find much information on them but can I assume that since they came from enterprise class storage they are up the the task? Assuming they are and I plan to use the 6 on-board SATA ports for now I think the best design is 3 pairs of mirrored vdevs. I plan to replace the Hitachis with WD Reds as time goes on since the drives are so old, but I will have 8 on-shelf spares for now if I don't build 2 FreeNAS.