Budget FreeNAS build, struggling to find correct RAM

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr Splat

Dabbler
Hello there,

I recently decided that I would like to build myself a FreeNAS box, I am only a mere student at this moment in time and therefore do not have exceptionally deep pockets. I recently finished a year's placement and I saved a bit of money up to invest in a proper NAS designed to house all the media on my main PC (which is now struggling with capacity) and for me to place all my course work on with the view of using the owncloud plugin to make it accessible wherever I happen to be. On top of this I have two second hand servers to mess about with with the view of creating a web server, or a game server to tinker with, and rather than investing in a number of hard drives, I intend to use my NAS to hold all of their data.

So now you have a rough idea of my intentions with my FreeNAS box I would like to get down to the problem at hand. My current build consists of:

Motherboard: SuperMicro X9SCM
CPU: Intel Pentium G2020
HDDs: 3 x 3tb WD RED's in RAIDz1
PSU: Seagate 80+ gold 350W
Case: Ace Ecco 250

I have found myself struggling to find the requisite RAM for my motherboard which is ECC Unbuffered. I have looked through ebay and amazon and practically all the RAM (Registered and Unbuffered) is in the united states, I then limited my searches to within the EU, and I have found a seller in Germany offering these: View: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2x-4GB-8GB-ECC-Unbuffered-RAM-Arbeitsspeicher-DDR3-1333-Mhz-UDIMM-PC3-10600E-/351038228809?pt=DE_Technik_Computerzubeh%C3%B6r_Arbeitsspeicher&hash=item51bb824949

Elpida are the chip manufacturers for the kingston RAM listed on the compatibility list of this board.
http://www.supermicro.com/support/r...D650E3EC19339&prid=0&type=0&ecc=0&reg=0&fbd=0