Bot attacks - death to the bot

James S

Explorer
The problem with the Internet is that it tends to level the playing field.
This is exactly my point. By labelling an entire country in a negative way it is easy for stereotypes to take over. (See the assumptions in the post.
I'm sure some of my perspective is naive. I'm not a security expert but a simple manager of a NAS keeping an eye on security.
Nonsense. If all your users are in a certain geographical area, and won't have any legitimate need to access your system from outside of that area, preemptively blocking IPs from outside that region is a legitimate strategy having nothing to do with politics, stereotypes, or racism (except in the idiotic sense in which "racism" is often used today in which literally everything is racist). You don't have to do it by any means, but that doesn't make it unsound.
See the above... "I assumed that becuase this is an English language . . . "
Sound like a stereotype to you? An assumption right?

I follow the rational - that if all users are in a certain geography then constraining access outside that space makes sense. That IS a rational (no users outside a geography). Assumptions that users in (China, India etc.) need to be blocked is NOT a rational. My point here - which is a little nuanced -- that it reflects how easy it is to jump to various assumptions.

Ok - so I'm a British guy living and working in Taiwan. I get frustrated when websites (obviously different from the NAS scenario) get blocked becuase of my region.

A good discussion.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I'm sure some of my perspective is naive. I'm not a security expert but a simple manager of a NAS keeping an eye on security.

Ok - so I'm a British guy living and working in Taiwan. I get frustrated when websites (obviously different from the NAS scenario) get blocked becuase of my region.