After upgrade from 11.3 u3 to 12 - no network connectivity, most jails do not start

ci4ic4

Cadet
I have been running FreeNAS 11 for at least 18 months under XCP-NG without any problems. Today, after I saw the message about the release of TrueNAS-CORE Beta1, I decided to try it. The upgrade completed without any problems, the pools were available as before, the network configuration was retained, but I could not send or receive any packets on the xn0 and xn1 interfaces. I tried resetting them, manually and using netcli, to no avail; just in case I also swapped the networks they were attached to, thinking there might be difference in enumeration them. Nothing would work, unfortunately.

Somewhat academical, after the lack of networking; two out of the three jails which should have started automatically did not start (nextcloud and emby - with a strange message about a missing fifth element or similar, did not take the exact message). The third - wiki - started ok. I didn't have any time to investigate thi problem.

Ofcourse I was able to activate the old boot environment and carry on using 11.3, so for now all is well.

FYI I also tried a new installation of TrueNAS-CORE on the same XCP-NG host, this time all was well and the networking operated as expected, so it appears it is a problem related to the update itself.

I know well that running FreeNAS as a virtual machine is not recommended, but both the performance and the reliability so far have been quite remarkable for me and forthe moment I do not have another option. The other FreeBSD 12 VMs I have on the same host all have no problems as well.

ThreeDee

Guru
I had a similar experience updating to 12 Beta and I'm not running FreeNAS in a VM .. I have a simple setup with just 2 jails, Plex and UniFi controller .. neither one would start. I tried to "Update" the Unifi controller via the jail "Update" button .. but it failed. Booted back into 11.3 and back to working jails , etc ..

Yorick

Wizard