Advice on SLOG, L2ARC etc

GusGus67

Cadet
Hi folks.
I'm a newbie to Freenas, but I've got a lot of experience of Domestic and small business IT. I'm building a Freenas unit which I will use to store my company data, home data and setup some small VMs for my business. I'm also wanting to go to 10Gbe networking for a few devices I use for my business. (My home is my office location)

I've looked at Proxmox and other ways of virtualising Freenas, but the majority of advice seems to be to run it on bare metal. To that end I've got a
Dell PowerEdge R720 2 x Xeon E5-2670, 128GB RAM and 8 x 6TB 10K SAS 6Gbps drives. It had a Dell H700 mini controller, but I've replaced that with an IBM M1015 flashed to LSI SAS9220-8i IT firmware.

I intend to put 2x 300GB 15K SAS drives in to run the VMs (as advised here https://blogs.serioustek.net/post/2014/06/14/vmware-on-freenas-the-right-way-aspx ), as the remaining 6x 6TB drives are way more than I need for my storage anyway.

I have two SATA connections in the R720, one is connected to a DVD drive at the moment which I don't need. I am now looking at whether I should boot the Freenas from an internal USB, or put it on an SSD. That would leave one other SATA port. The question then is, what should I do regarding SLOG/ZIL/L2ARC?

As I have so much RAM, what will I get away with?

Any advice gratefully received,
Gus

I am now looking at whether I should boot the Freenas from an internal USB, or put it on an SSD.
You certainly can use a usb stick but many folks are opting for SSD now since they are much more reliable and relatively inexpensive.

8 x 6TB 10K SAS 6Gbps drives