Adding disk to RAID

Status
Not open for further replies.

Endy

Cadet
Is there a Raid setup In FreeNAS where you can start with lets say 4 disks and then later add HDD's later without having to back up the data?
Im not good with computer lingo so i give an example instead:

4 x 1TB HDD = one volume total size 4 TB (raid0)
use it a few weeks, where I put some musik and movie ect. on it
then I add another drive
5 x 1TB HDD = total size 5 TB(still raid0)
the media I put on the 4 disks still is in this new setup.

I plan on using raid 5 or somthing like it because i would like to have at least some redundancy.

BTW its a Home NAS with nothing vital on it so i don't want to lose more that one drive to redundancy.

** Edit **
Never mind from what i have read it should be possible.

Stephens

Patron
I'd like to know where you read that you can expand a FreeNAS RAID-Z1 (RAID5) array by one disk. You can't.

Endy

Cadet
well I dont know about RAID-z1 and the specifics but I read about Online Capacity Expansion and if FreeNAS dosn't support it i'll find an OS that does. also I don't know if Online Capacity Expansion is a hardware only(not all controllers) or if it is in software raid to.

My point being. It is possible to expand one drive at a time and it is also possible to do Online RAID Level Migration, so I can start with a low number of drive and expand when i have the green to do so:)

ben

FreeNAS GUI Developer