Accessing FreeNAS host storage from bhyve guest

Status
Not open for further replies.

John Rushford

Dabbler
Greetings,

I'm a new FreeNAS user and have just finished building my first NAS with FreeNAS 9.10. I'm using the NAS as a CIFS file share on my local network for Apple Mac OS macbook laptops. Also I'm using the NAS as a plex media server for music, TV shows and movies. So I build a jail on the NAS running plex media server and spent a lot of time getting videos and music in the library I set aside on the FreeNAS ZFS volume. So far everything is working fantastically, hats off to the FreeNAS developers.

After reading Jordan Hubbard's announcement on FreeNAS 9.10, I started playing with iohyve I now have a FreeBSD 10.3 guest running. I've added the rc.conf tunable's for iohyve and set the boot flag on the guest zfs file system so that /usr/local/etc/rc.d/iohyve starts this guest automatically. I now plan to replace the jail running plex media server with this bhyve vm but am wondering how to import my library to the vm from the FreeNAS host. I think that at this point, I'm going to have to use NFS to do that but before I do that, I was wondering if anyone might know of a better way for the vm guest to access my storage on the ZFS volume on the FreeNAS host? Is there another way to make my media zfs filesystem available to the vm besides NFS?

fracai

Guru
For now I've been using NFS. It looks like v10 will bring 9pfs.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
For now I've been using NFS. It looks like v10 will bring 9pfs.
I did search first, that is how I found this, but I didn't find the answer I was looking for. I hate to resurrect such an old question but it appears applicable and unanswered.
I have a VM that I created under FreeNAS 11.1 and it can access the internet, but not access my SMB share on the FreeNAS that it is running on.
Any guidance?

KrisBee

Wizard
@Chris Moore What OS is running in your VM? Any firewalling that might be blocking SMB?

Chris Moore