9.2.1 Beta Domain Controller Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeepers183

Dabbler
So i am rather new to FreeNas so i'm hoping i'm missing something simple.
I have a ton of experiance in an Microsoft Active Directory enviroment so the option of running it at home was a huge plus for me (Although i know 9.2.1 is still in Beta so I may end up with some issues).

Now to the point, Under system settings i chose Domain Controller, On the services Tab (Because it wasn't listed in the tree) i modified my directory services and set the Realm, domain (realm without the .xxx), DNS Backend "Samba_Internal", DNS Forwarder "My router", Forest Level "2003". Then added the coresponding domain information to my Active Directory configuration under services in the tree. This left the Directry Services Service unable to start but added Domain Controller under services in the tree.
The strange part is if i choose domain controller under the tree it is blank, if i add all of my information i get a loading screen then a statement that an error has occored (On the first shot I recieved an error that was related to some Domain Controller files missing but i didn't grab a screenshot of it, i know shame on me).

Am I to the point of a factory reset (And would i loose my shares/volumes or just the system settings) as the only backup i took was pre 9.2.1 upgrade and i had been confused and trying to seup freenas as a domain controller under the active directory service settings.

Again, i know i Beta should be testing only and if a restore is required i am comfortable as FreeNas is simply a media server for me currently and i could rebuild all settings in under an hour..

*Edit - Managed to duplicate the error i recieve when i modify the domain controller from the tree.

"
Request Method: POST
Request URL: http://192.168.15.4/admin/services/domaincontroller/add/
Software Version: FreeNAS-9.2.1-BETA-b9c6b76-x64
Exception Type: IntegrityError
Exception Value: