4TB to 3.5 TiB Data Transfer

Status
Not open for further replies.

RonB

Cadet
Hello Everyone. I am new to freeNAS . I have 2 identical 4TB WD Green Hard Drives. One is empty and I connected to my freeNAS which came up to 3.5 TiB. The other has data in it, amounting to about 3.5 TB. I tried to transfer it's content to the empty one via network from my windows 7 computer, and it would not fit. . . it says I am 34 GB short .. .but they are identical 4TB drives and I have 200 GB plus unused space from in the source drive. How is this possible? . . what happened to that space in the free NAS drive? I do not have any snapshots, and recycling bin.
Many thanks in advance to those who can answer me.

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Well 2gb are used for swap and there is space wasted depending on block size. You can try increasing the block size to 1M when you create the pool of your files are mostly larger files. Different filesystems layout data differently and use space differently. Also not with zfs you should not go above 90% full.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Stux

MVP
Hello Everyone. I am new to freeNAS . I have 2 identical 4TB WD Green Hard Drives. One is empty and I connected to my freeNAS which came up to 3.5 TiB. The other has data in it, amounting to about 3.5 TB. I tried to transfer it's content to the empty one via network from my windows 7 computer, and it would not fit. . . it says I am 34 GB short .. .but they are identical 4TB drives and I have 200 GB plus unused space from in the source drive. How is this possible? . . what happened to that space in the free NAS drive? I do not have any snapshots, and recycling bin.
Many thanks in advance to those who can answer me.

Do you have 3.5TB or 3.5 TiB of data to copy?

RonB

Cadet
I have a 3.5 TB data to copy to a 3.5 TiB . I have the destination drive in raid zero.

RonB

Cadet
The term raid zero doesn't exist in FreeNAS