3ware Drive Monitoring

Status
Not open for further replies.

MadsRC

Dabbler
NOTE: This is beta software. Use at your own risk!
Prologue

Let me start by saying, I'm fairly new to FreeNAS, so please bear with me if this has been done before.

Before I start by telling what the program does, you need to know my build.
I'm using a SuperMicro SC846 server, which comes with a 3ware/LSI 9650SE 24M8 raid card.
A couple of days ago when I was setting up FreeNAS, I wanted to do something to monitor my disks. I realised I would get a daily mail from the FreeNAS system, but daily doesn't cut it with 24 drives...
I started setting up SMART checks (short, long and offline) realising it was a pain to time it all (So to stay clear of scrubs and other SMART checks).
Then last night I fell over a line in the manual stating that if you had a RAID controller, you shouldn't schedule SMART checks, as the RAId controller should do that for you.

GREAT!!!

I did some testing using tw_cli and it seems like mine does.

Then I went down in the basement and pulled a drive. Back at the computer, the only "notice" I got was an entry in the messages log. No mail, no nothing...

After some more reading around, I found that I would need the 3ware GUI (w3dm or something) - But that isn't included in FreeNAS and couldn't really find a way to get it working.

Then, what's a hacker to do?

I created my own littel "wrapper" around the tw_cli program.

What It Does

It queries tw_cli for the disk status. This status is then checked for the keyword: "OK"
If OK isn't in the status a mail is sent to root.

The next time it runs, it will remember the last errors. This makes sure you are only noticed about a disc one time (I run it every 15th minute and only want to know it once) but notify's you of new errors.

It will use a temporary director in /tmp called tw (/tmp/tw).