ZFS ZIL L2ARC 16GB RAM 10GbE

Status
Not open for further replies.

bumann

Dabbler
Hi,

i am new to FreeNAS, I have some design questions.
I want to use it for shared NFS Storage for two Proxmox VE Systems.

My Hardware is:
Intel Xeon X3430 CPU, 16GB ECC RAM (MAX)
3x 32GB USB Stick for FreeNAS System
2x 4TB 7200 NAS HDD Mirror
1x 2 Port Infiniband 10GbE NIC
2x 160gb Intel 3510 SSD (not used yet)

Do you think I can get better performance with the SSD ZIL and L2ARC?
I read in the forum it isn't good to use ZIL/ARC with only 16GB RAM.

Last edited by a moderator:

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
My Hardware is:
Intel Xeon X3430 CPU, 16GB ECC RAM (MAX)
Why do you say that is the 'MAX' memory? The CPU should support 32GB, and honestly I would think you will want more.
3x 32GB USB Stick for Freenas System
I don't see a reason to use three. Better to buy a single small capacity SSD.
2x 4TB 7200 NAS HDD Mirror
To host virtualization, IOPS would be important and more drives will give more IOPS. To that end, if I were building this, I would rather go with 8 x 1TB drives and create 4 mirrored vdevs in my pool. I am no pro at the virtualization thing, but I would expect better performance from that. A single mirror, the way you suggest, would only give the performance of a single drive, which can be quite poor if you are trying to read and write data from multiple sources simultaneously.
1x 2 Port Infiniband 10GbE NIC
Brand matters. Some cards work well with FreeNAS and others do not work as well and yet others may not work at all. This network thing brings me back to the drives though, if you want to actually be able to utilize the speed of 10GB networking, you need a bare minimum of 10 drives. Sorry.
What would you use these for?
Do You think I can get better performance with the ssd ZIL and L2ARC